The Ground Is My Ocean…

“I am a shark, the ground is my ocean, and most people can’t even swim.”

— Master Rickson Gracie
I wonder how many of us here go through life constantly dealing with thoughts of worthlessness, feelings of desolation, inadequacy…..weak?
Let me be the first to that say I do.
I used to not know how to deal with these negativity and I turned to bitterness and anger as some sort of quick but temporal fix and this lead to me having strained relationships with those around me, family and friends alike. 

I was not in a good place.
That is why I am so glad to make that decision in 2013 to put on the gi for the first time in my life and took my very first Jiu Jitsu class.

The lessons that Jiu Jitsu has taught me were invaluable. Amongst many I find the following to be most significant:
I’ve learnt humility in knowing no one is spared from the throes of life’s trials and thus I should stop feeling sorry for myself. 

I also learnt that a focused mind is more important that a strong body for he who is focused knows how to stay the course to his own person development.
And one of the most important lesson I have learnt is to develop a sense of self worth because we all  have our own battles to fight and losing is not a dent in our value but getting up each time we fall adds to it.
Thus I count myself blessed to have the opportunities to walk this thousand mile road.
That’s why these days whenever I find myself wrestling against the demons in my mind, I put on my gi, tie my belt and step onto the sacred mats and train.
Because,

The ground is my ocean……

“Step by step, walk the thousand mile road.”

Leave a Reply

